Skip to main content

Justify Becomes 13th Winner Of The Triple Crown

Justify races at the Belmont Stakes to capture Triple Crown.

Those who tune into today's Belmont Stakes saw history made. Justify, winner of the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness, put together a dominant performance to capture the Triple Crown.

The first two legs of the Triple Crown were raced in pouring rain. The weather held off today on Long Island, but the result was the same.

As the race began, Justify was a 4/5 favorite to take it home. Ahead of the Derby, he had +850 to win the Triple Crown.

Justify led the race wire-to-wire. It was an incredibly impressive performance.

Video of the finish, via NBC Sports:

Gronkowski, the horse named after and partially owned by New England Patriots superstar tight end Rob Gronkowski, came in second place.

This is the second Triple Crown winner in the last four years. In 2015, American Pharoah broke a nearly 40-year streak with no Triple Crown winners.

Both Justify and American Pharoah were trained by Bob Baffert.

The last time period that saw a similar stretch of Triple Crown champions was the 1970s. That decade saw three legendary horses—Secretariat in 1973, Seattle Slew in 1977, and Affirmed in 1978—win the Triple Crown.

Before 1973, there hadn't been a winner since 1948. We could be in for a long stretch before we see another dominant horse like the ones that we've seen in the last few years.