Skip to main content

MLB's Official Rule On What Happened With Mookie Betts-Jose Altuve

Mookie Betts leaps for a catch.

HOUSTON, TX - OCTOBER 17: A fan interferes with Mookie Betts #50 of the Boston Red Sox as he attempts to catch a ball hit by Jose Altuve #27 of the Houston Astros (not pictured) in the first inning during Game Four of the American League Championship Series at Minute Maid Park on October 17, 2018 in Houston, Texas. (Photo by Bob Levey/Getty Images)

Mookie Betts and Jose Altuve (and a bunch of Houston Astros fans) have given us the most-controversial play of the MLB's postseason. It happened in the first inning of tonight's American League Championship Series game.

Altuve hit a deep shot to right. The ball looked like it was going to land in the first row of the stands. However, Betts went up for a catch, made some contact with a couple of Astros fans, the ball hit off them and bounced back onto the field.

The umpires then went to a review. They called Altuve out on fan interference.

The fans didn't appear to be reaching over the fence, but interference was still called. Here's the full rule:

This is clearly going to be a play that's talked about for a long time, especially if the Astros lose tonight.

The Red Sox are winning, 2-0. The game is on TBS.

Update: The official ruling is actually that the play "stood," meaning interference was called on the field and there wasn't enough evidence to overturn it.