Skip to main content

Comment From Phil Mickelson's Wife Going Viral After U.S. Open Blunder

Phil Mickelson looking at his shot as it flies through the air.

PONTE VEDRA BEACH, FL - MAY 10: Phil Mickelson of the United States plays a shot during the first round of THE PLAYERS Championship on the Stadium Course at TPC Sawgrass on May 10, 2018 in Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida. (Photo by Richard Heathcote/Getty Images)

A 2018 U.S. Open champion is going to be crowned in a couple of hours - several major players, including Dustin Johnson and Patrick reed, remain in contention - but whatever happens at the end of the tournament is going to have a tough time making more headlines than what Phil Mickelson did on Saturday afternoon.

Mickelson, who's out of contention at the tournament, putted a moving ball in frustration while on the green on Saturday. His move has been widely criticized, with some saying he should've been disqualified from the entire tournament.

Here's video of what happened:

It turns out that Mickelson did actually offer to withdraw from the tournament. His wife, Amy, spoke about her husband's putting blunder.

From GolfWeek:

Amy Mickelson, dressed in solid black like her husband, stood off the side of the pro shop porch. For as long as they’ve been in this together, Saturday night at the U.S. Open was like nothing they’d experienced before. Phil knew the rule, Amy said, but when he got home and heard all the talk about disqualification, he picked up the phone during the afternoon telecast.

“When he heard that he called Mike Davis and said ‘If I’ve done something that crosses the line that much, then I need to withdraw immediately,’ ” Amy said.

Davis assured Phil that he was well within the rules. He closed with a 1-under 69 on a much more receptive Shinnecock Hills.

“You know it’s not his finest moment,” said Amy, “but hopefully he’ll learn from it. Like anybody, good people make mistakes. We all have a moment in life sometimes and that was kind of a moment I think for him.”

Mickelson ended up playing today and shot a 1-under par. He finished the tournament 16-over and is currently tied for 50th place