Skip to main content

The 2019 Maui Invitational Field Has Been Announced

A detail of the net and basket prior to the Georgetown Hoyas playing against the Cincinnati Bearcats during the quaterfinals of the Big East Men's Basketball Tournament at Madison Square Garden.

(Photo by Elsa/Getty Images)

The premier college basketball non-conference tournament has announced its field for the 2019 season. It's going to be a fun one.

The Maui Invitational announced this afternoon the 8 teams that will be taking part in the tournament in 2019.

It's a loaded field.

From the Maui Invitational:

BYU, Dayton, Georgia, Kansas, Michigan State, UCLA and Virginia Tech will join host Chaminade for the 36th annual Tournament, which will be contested November 25-27 at the historic Lahaina Civic Center on the island of Maui.

"The Maui Jim Maui Invitational has earned a reputation for showcasing powerhouse teams year over year, and we are thrilled to continue that tradition in 2019," said Tournament Chairman Dave Odom. "The Lahaina Civic Center will host some of college basketball's best programs, coaches and players when these eight teams converge in Maui."

Prior to the 2018 season, UCLA held the record for consecutive Division I regular season conference titles (13), only to have that record broken by fellow Maui contender, Kansas, this past season. Four programs – Kansas, Michigan State, UCLA and Virginia Tech – earned NCAA Tournament berths this season. The Jayhawks will compete in their 15th Final Four in program history, fifth-most in tournament history, this weekend.

The 2018 field is a strong one, too.

Arizona, Auburn, Duke, Gonzaga, Illinois, Iowa State, San Diego State and Xavier are set to compete.