Skip to main content

The Referees Missed A Blatant Travel At The End Of Nevada-Loyola

A Loyola player appeared to travel on the final possession.

We're one game into the Sweet 16. It was a good one.

Loyola-Chicago, the No. 11 seed in the South Region, knocked off No. 7 seed Nevada. The game came down to the final seconds.

The Ramblers are moving on with a 69-68 win. It's their third win in the NCAA Tournament and those three wins have come by a combined four points.

Loyola-Chicago was the beneficiary of some bad refereeing at the end of tonight's contest, though.

The referees missed a pretty blatant travel right at the end of the contest. Loyola was up by 1 point with about a second left when they inbounded the ball toward halfcourt.

The Ramblers' player appeared to travel before dribbling. CBS analyst Chris Webber thought it was obvious.

Check it out:

Yeah, that's a travel.

Would calling that have changed the outcome, though? Maybe.

Nevada would have had to inbound the ball from about halfcourt and make a shot with less than a second left. But the Wolf Pack deserved the chance to make it happen.

Regardless, Loyola moves on to the Elite Eight.