Skip to main content

Colin Kaepernick Voted 2016 Len Eshmont Award Winner By Teammates

49ers quarterback Colin Kaepernick was presented with the prestigious Len Eshmont award after a team-wide vote.

Whatever you thought of Colin Kaepernick and his protests, it's now become clear what his 49ers teammates thought. Today it was announced that Kaepernick would be the recipient of the Len Eshmont award, an award given to the 49ers player who best exemplifies the inspirational and courageous play of Len Eshmont.

Kaepernick gained national attention earlier in the season with his protest of racial inequality in the United States, and his decision to kneel during the national anthem sparked national debate, debate that still continues to this day.

Len Eshmont was an original member of the 49ers when they were established as a team in 1946. He passed away in 1957, and the award was created that year in his honor.

Previous winners of the Len Eshmont award include Joe Montana, Jerry Rice and Steve Young.