Skip to main content

2018 Pro Football Hall Of Fame Class Has Been Announced

Two generic NFL footballs.

(Photo by Buda Mendes/Getty Images)

The 2018 Pro Football Hall of Fame class has been officially announced, and it is loaded.

There is a backlog of worthy players waiting for potential Hall of Fame induction. Today, five modern players, and another three men from the league's older days, are on their way to Canton.

The Hall of Fame class was announced tonight at the NFL Honors show. The broadcast is currently running on NBC.

Three legendary players made the Hall in their first years of eligibility. Randy Moss, Ray Lewis, and Brian Urlacher are all Canton-bound.

Two former Philadelphia Eagles are also heading to the Hall, with the announcement coming a day before a rematch of the 2004 Super Bowl with the New England Patriots. Beloved former Eagles safety Brian Dawkins makes it in his second year of eligibility.

That leaves Terrell Owens, statistically one of the greatest players ever, but one who had been snubbed for a few years. He too is heading to the Hall.

Those five greats are joined by Bobby Beathard, Jerry Kramer, and Robert Brazile. The eight inductees were informed of the news this evening.

The NFL Network posted a portrait featuring all eight inductees. While the teams that Dawkins, Lewis, and Urlacher would be representing were no shock, Owens is in a 49ers uniform, while Moss is in Vikings garb.

Moss played most of his career with Minnesota, but did have a highly-successful stint as a New England Patriot, having perhaps his best season in 2007, catching a career-high 23 touchdowns from Tom Brady.

Owens played the first half of his career with the 49ers, and had many of his best years there. He was still highly productive as an Eagle and Cowboy, and was infamous for many of his off-field moments with those franchises, before finishing his career with the Bills and Bengals.

Congratulations to the entire Hall of Fame class. The players will be enshrined during the first weekend of August.