Skip to main content

Tom Brady Wins MVP, Headlining NFL's Regular Season Awards

Tom Brady throwing passes on the sideline.

EAST RUTHERFORD, NJ - SEPTEMBER 01: Tom Brady #12 of the New England Patriots warms up on the sidelines during their preseason game against the New York Giants at MetLife Stadium on September 1, 2016 in East Rutherford, New Jersey. (Photo by Jeff Zelevansky/Getty Images)

Tom Brady will play for his sixth Super Bowl tomorrow. Today, he captured his third regular season MVP award.

Last year's Super Bowl victory helped bolster Tom Brady's argument as the greatest quarterback in history. The 2017 regular season gives him another major award.

Tom Brady led the Patriots to a 13-3 record, before running through the AFC in the NFL Playoffs. On the season, he completed 66.3-percent of his passes for 4,577 yards, 32 touchdowns, and eight interceptions.

For his efforts, he has captured his third NFL MVP award. He also won in 2007 and 2010.

Interestingly, those two seasons did not result in Super Bowls. In 2007, the undefeated Patriots were famously upset by the New York Giants, while the 2010 Patriots fell to the New York Jets in the divisional round of the playoffs.

Brady has a chance to add a sixth Super Bowl, and potentially a fifth Super Bowl MVP to his mantle tomorrow. In doing so, it would become even more difficult to argue against his standing atop the spot.

Brady's most recent MVP was announced earlier tonight at the NFL Honors. The show was broadcast on NBC.

A number of other big awards were given out tonight as well. Some of the other big winners:

-Offensive Player of the Year: Todd Gurley
-Defensive Player of the Year: Aaron Donald
-FedEx Air Player of the Year: Carson Wentz
-FedEx Ground Player of the Year: Todd Gurley
-Offensive Rookie of the Year: Alvin Kamara
-Defensive Rookie of the Year: Marshon Lattimore
-Coach of the Year: Sean McVay
-Assistant Coach of the Year: Pat Shurmur
-Comeback Player of the Year: Keenan Allen
-Walter Payton Man of the Year: JJ Watt
-Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award: Luke Kuechly

There are also eight new inductees to the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The list includes Brian Dawkins, Ray Lewis, Randy Moss, Terrell Owens, and Brian Urlacher.