Skip to main content

Former Wisconsin RB Montee Ball Tweeted That The Heisman Trophy Is A "QB Award"

Marcus Mariota won the Heisman Trophy on Saturday night, which made it the fifth straight year that a quarterback has won the most prestigious award in college football. In fact, since 2000, only two non-quarterbacks have won the Heisman -- USC RB Reggie Bush and Alabama RB Mark Ingram.

After it was announced that Mariota won by a near-record margin over Wisconsin RB Melvin Gordon and Alabama WR Amari Cooper, both of whom had outstanding seasons, former Badgers RB Montee Ball took to Twitter and said that he thinks the award is for quarterbacks.

Ball knows what it's like to lose out to a QB in the Heisman voting. He was a finalist for the award in 2011 and came in a distant fourth place after rushing for 1,923 yards and scoring an NCAA-record 39 total touchdowns. Baylor's Robert Griffin III narrowly won the award that year with Stanford's Andrew Luck coming in second place.

What do you think, is Ball right on this one?