Skip to main content

Did Alabama Baseball Get Hosed On This Strike Three Call?

Here's the situation: Alabama baseball is taking on Kennesaw State in the Tallahassee Regional final with a spot in the NCAA's Super Regional on the line. Bama's Kyle Overstreet was up at the plate against Kennesaw State's closer Justin McCalvin, and the Crimson Tide was down, 4-2. Alabama had runners on first and second, and with two outs and a 2-2 count, this happened:

The pitch was called a strike, but it certainly looked like it could have been a ball, since Kennesaw State's catcher caught the ball just before it hit the top of his cleat. What do you think, did Alabama get hosed, or did the umpire get the call right?