Skip to main content

Video: 7 Kentucky Players Officially Declare For The NBA Draft

Seven players from this past year's Kentucky team will be leaving school early to enter themselves into the 2015 NBA Draft. Kentucky held a press conference at 2:30 PM ET Thursday afternoon to make the news official. The Wildcats, who started the season with a 38-0 record before falling to Wisconsin in the Final Four, will be losing the services of Karl-Anthony Towns, Willie Cauley-Stein, Andrew Harrison, Aaron Harrison, Devin Booker, Dakari Johnson and Trey Lyles. 

Tyler Ulis, Marcus Lee and Alex Poythress will return for Big Blue.

To announce the news, head coach John Calipari asked any player heading to the NBA to stand up. After an awkward pause, all seven players did.

Kentucky certainly won't feature the star power in 2015-2016 that it did in 2014-2015, but the Wildcats will still be loaded. They've already signed two five-stars (Skal Labissiere, Isaiah Briscoe) and one four-star (Charles Matthews) for the 2015 class. Meanwhile, if all seven UK players are selected in June, they'll make up just under 12% of the entire draft class.