Skip to main content

Joe Burrow Broke Multiple Records With Tonight's Heisman Trophy Voting

Joe Burrow at the Heisman Trophy ceremony.

NEW YORK, NY - DECEMBER 14: A Finalist for the 85th annual Heisman Memorial Trophy quarterback Joe Burrow of the LSU Tigers speaks during a press conference on December 14, 2019 in New York City. (Photo by Adam Hunger/Getty Images)

Final voting results for tonight's Heisman Trophy are out, and as expected, Joe Burrow absolutely ran away with it. The LSU quarterback becomes the first Tiger to win the award since Billy Cannon in 1959.

The point totals were released while Burrow was still delivering his emotional speech after winning the award. He won by nearly 2,000 total points over Oklahoma's Jalen Hurts.

The totals basically show that the two Ohio State finalists cannibalized each other's votes a bit. Justin Fields finished third, just behind Hurts, ahead of Chase Young.

Wisconsin running back Jonathan Taylor and Ohio State's J.K. Dobbins finished fifth and sixth. Clemson was well represented in the top 10 as well, with quarterback Trevor Lawrence and running back Travis Etienne finishing in seventh and ninth, with Oklahoma State running back Chuba Hubbard in eighth.

Tua Tagovailoa finished 10th, even with an injury ending his season prematurely.

The full totals, via USA Today's Paul Myerberg:

Burrow set four major Heisman voting records with his historic win. He blew out fellow former Ohio State quarterback Troy Smith's 2006 record for most first place votes, with 90.7-percent vs. 66.7-percent for Smith that year. He also beat Smith for highest percentage of possible votes. The third record: Burrow broke O.J. Simpson's record for total points.

The fourth on there still has some very upset. Burrow broke a Marcus Mariota record for appearing on 95.5-percent of ballots. That means that 4.5-percent of voters didn't include him at all, which is nuts.

That being said, this always happens with votes like these. Joe Burrow has to be thrilled with how things shook out tonight. [

1. Burrow (2,608 points)
2. Hurts (762)
3. Fields (747)
4. Young (643)
5. Taylor (189)
6. Dobbins (114)
7. Lawrence (88)
8. Hubbard (68)
9. Etienne (25)
10. Tagovailoa (24)

— Paul Myerberg (@PaulMyerberg) December 15, 2019

">Paul Myerberg]