Skip to main content

LSU Will Have Two Players Wear No. 18 This Season

Two players will wear No. 18 for LSU this season.

Back in 2003, Matt Mauck, wearing No. 18, led LSU to its first national title since 1958. Since, the school has kept a tradition of only awarding the number to players that demonstrate what it means to be an LSU Tiger on and off the field.

Since Mauck's departure, the number has only been worn by one player each year. This year, there will be two players - one on offense and one on defense - wearing the number.

In March, LSU announced that No. 18 would be worn by defensive lineman Christian LaCouture.

Today, the school announced that there will be two players wearing No. 18. Fullback J.D. Moore will also get the honor.

Some of Moore's teammates campaigned for him to wear No. 18 earlier in the year, so it looks like they're getting their wish.

Past players to wear the number? Matt Mauck, Jacob Hester, Richard Dickson, Richard Murphy, Brandon Taylor, Bennie Logan, Lamin Barrow, Terrance Magee and Tre'Davious White.