Skip to main content

The NCAA Has Reportedly Handed Ole Miss Another Penalty

A football game between LSU and Ole Miss.

OXFORD, MS - NOVEMBER 17: General view of fans watching the game between the LSU Tigers and the Mississippi Rebels at Vaught-Hemingway Stadium at Hollingsworth Field November 17, 2007 in Oxford, Mississippi. LSU beat Mississippi 41-24. (Photo by Joe Murphy/Getty Images)

Over the last two years, Ole Miss football has been hit with a slew of penalties by the NCAA due to violations that occurred under former coaches Houston Nutt and Hugh Freeze. These punishments included a two-year bowl ban and self-imposed sanctions on recruiting visits and scholarships.

The bowl ban has now worn off, but the NCAA has reportedly slapped the Rebels with one final penalty. According to, Ole Miss must vacate a total of 33 wins over a span of six seasons (2010-14, 2016).

Those wins include a victory over Alabama in 2014 and eight triumphs in total from that season. No games from 2015 have to be vacated, which means the school can keep its Sugar Bowl title from that year.

The program also gets to keep its Music City Bowl win over Georgia Tech following the 2013 campaign.

The official breakdown of vacated wins, courtesy of RebelGrove, can be found below:

2010: Tulane, Fresno State, Kentucky, ULL

2011: Southern Illinois, Fresno State

2012: Central Arkansas, UTEP, Auburn, Tulane, Arkansas, Mississippi State, Pittsburgh

2013: Vanderbilt, Southeast Missouri, LSU, Texas, Idaho, Arkansas, Troy

2014: Boise State, Vanderbilt, ULL, Memphis, Alabama, Texas A&M, Mississippi State, Tennessee

2016: Wofford, Georgia, Memphis, Georgia Southern, Texas A&M

With this ruling, Ole Miss can finally put this mess behind it as it looks toward the future. The Rebels went 5-7 and 6-6 in the last two seasons under Matt Luke.

There is also some reason for optimism, as Luke inked a top-25 class for the 2019 recruiting cycle.