Skip to main content

Big 12 Announces Addition Of 4 New Schools

After weeks of speculation, the Big 12 has finally made a decision as to whether it'll be adding members in the future.

On Friday morning, the Big 12 announced that it extended membership invitations to BYU, Cincinnati, Houston and UCF. All four programs were linked to the conference ever since Oklahoma and Texas announced their departure for the SEC.

"The Big 12 Conference Board of Directors this morning voted to extend membership invitations to Brigham Young University, the University of Central Florida, the University of Cincinnati, and the University of Houston to join the Conference," the conference said in a statement.

Later in the statement, the Big 12 said that its institutional boards will be in session today to discuss this major move.

BYU, Cincinnati, Houston and UCF will all have introductory press conferences this Friday as members of the Big 12. As of now, the four schools are not expected to join the conference in time for the 2022 college football season.

Losing elite programs like Oklahoma and Texas will sting for a long time, but the Big 12 did an excellent job of quickly finding new members. For the past several years, BYU, Cincinnati, Houston and UCF have proven they can hold their own against top-tier opponents.

With these four members on board for the foreseeable future, the Big 12 will consist of a dozen teams once the Longhorns and Sooners are gone.