Skip to main content

NFL Announces Its Officating Crew For The Super Bowl

photo of an nfl referee

DENVER, CO - SEPTEMBER 23: A detail of the uniform and whistle of an NFL referee as he oversees the action between the Houston Texans and the Denver Broncos at Sports Authority Field at Mile High on September 23, 2012 in Denver, Colorado. The Texans defeated the Broncos 31-25. (Photo by Doug Pensinger/Getty Images)

On Tuesday, the NFL announced the Super Bowl LVI officiating crew. The lineup showcases some familiar faces and a few that have previous experience in football's biggest game.

Per ESPN NFL insider Adam Schefter shared the news via Twitter.

Ron Torbert will lead the crew as the head referee when the AFC and NFC champs meet at SoFi Stadium. This will mark the eight-year vet's first career Super Bowl. But he's worked a number of playoff games over the years, including Saturday's divisional round matchup between the 49ers and Packers. Umpire Brian Neale, down judge Derick Bowers, line judge Carl Johnson, field judge Rick Patterson, side judge Keith Washington, back judge Scott Helverson and replay official Roddy Ames round out the rest of the gang.

Torbert, Neale and Washington are making their Super Bowl debuts. Meanwhile, Derick Bowers will see his second SB action. While the other three men will officiate their third Super Bowls.

The Super Bowl kicks off in Los Angeles on February 13. The game will be broadcast on NBC with a halftime show that features legendary west coast figures Dr. Dre, Snoop Dogg and Kendrick Lamar. Along with Eminem and the timeless Mary J. Blige.