Skip to main content

NFL World Debating Devin Hester's Hall Of Fame Status

Devin Hester catching a kick return.

SAN FRANCISCO - NOVEMBER 12: Devin Hester #23 of the Chicago Bears catches a kick return against the San Francisco 49ers at Candlestick Park on November 12, 2009 in San Francisco, California. The 49ers won 10-6. (Photo by Jed Jacobsohn/Getty Images)

The Pro Football Hall of Fame released a list of the 122 nominees and 10 first-year eligible players that are candidates for the Class of 2022 on Wednesday. Among those on the ballot for the first time is legendary special teamer Devin Hester.

Widely regarded as the best returner of all time, Hester has a strong case to enter the Hall in his first go-around. He holds the NFL records for most career combined special teams return touchdowns (20), most punt return touchdowns in a season (4) and the fastest touchdown in Super Bowl history (14 seconds).

Nevertheless, getting into the Pro Football Hall of Fame as a special teams player has proven notoriously difficult over the years. As a result, many fans are worried that Hester won't be given the treatment he deserves by the selection committee.

That's why a handful of those loyal to the Chicago Bears great took to Twitter on Wednesday to advocate for his acceptance into Canton next February.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame will only induct between four and eight members this year, so Hester will have his work cut out for him. He will have as good, if not better, a case as any other nominee because of the way he revolutionized the way the league thought about special teams.

Hester recently spoke about exactly that when talking about why he deserves a spot in the Hall of Fame in 2022.

"I believe I should be in the Hall of Fame just on what I brought to this game. What I did in the National Football League has never been done before. Never been done before," Hester said in an interview with 670 The Score.

Joining Hester as the other first timers on the ballot are are wide receivers Anquan Boldin, Andre Johnson and Steve Smith; offensive linemen Jake Long and Nick Mangold; edge rusher DeMarcus Ware; defensive linemen Robert Mathis and Vince Wilfork; and defensive back Antonio Cromartie.

The selection committee will now reduce the list of nominees to 25 semifinalists in November and then to 15 finalists in January. The final vote will happen sometime before Super Bowl LVI.

At that point, fans should know for sure if Hester is headed to Canton in his first year of eligibility.